Open Hours: Mon - Fri 8.00 am - 6.00 pm

Ethnic Groups

Ethnic Groups

The Ndu municipality is made up of three clans.
Each has its own history.


The Warr villages include: Ntumbaw, Rong and Sop. The Warr people (Wiwarr) are believed to have settled at a place called Mbirbo in Mbot village (Nkambe Central) on their arrival from Kimi. While at Mbirbo, they lived harmoniously as a family until their first  leader died. Disagreement over his succession led to conflicts that resulted to movement in various directions. The groups that settled in the Ndu Rural Council area included the present Ntumbaw, Sop and Njirong people. Since their arrival at these places, only the people of Sop have moved out before returning to settle at the same site. The reasons for their movement out of the place is said to be related to further misunderstandings with their brothers who settled at War (in Nkambe Central). They moved to the Bamoum land in the West Region before coming back late in the 19th Century.


The Tang clan constitutes the following villages: Sinna, Taku, Ntundip, Ngarum, and Talla. It is told that the Tang people (Witang in Limbum) first settled at a place called Mbajeng when they arrived in this area from Kimi. While at Mbajeng, two groups emerged, respectively called “Nkum” and “Nyar”. Due to some misunderstanding between the two groups, the Nkum group left Mbajeng and settled at Talla. Following chieftaincy conflicts, they broke up and dispersed to various sites leaving the present Talla on the spot. The villages that resulted include Taku, Ntundip and Ngarum in the Ndu Council area, and Kup, Tabenken, Binka and Bih in the Nkambe area. The Nyar group later dispersed from Mbajeng to the present Wowo, Sinna and Mbipgo. Since their settlement at these sites, the Tang people have moved very little, though there have been slight adjustments to security needs and land demands. Even though history holds that the Wowo and Mbipgo people are related to, and migrated together with the Tang people, they are today considered to be of the Wiya clan. The reasons for this attribution are unclear


The Wiya people come from 10 chiefdoms. These are Konchep, Luh, Ndu, Ngulu, Njilah, Njimnkang, Nseh-Makop, Sehn, Wowo and Mbipgo. As concerns Wiya, their entry pattern into the area does not seem to be well known. It is believed that the villages that make up the Wiya clan did not migrate from Kimi together. These villages are said to have arrived in the area at different periods following different migration patterns. Family relations and similarity in migration patterns are however evident between some of the villages of the clan as follows:

  • The people of Wowo and Mbipgo are said to be related to, and migrated together with the Tang people;
  • The Njimnkang and Sehn people are believed to have settled first at a place between Ndu and Sop called Mankeng before moving to their present sites;
  • The people of Njilah, Mangu and Ngulu-Makop first settled for some time in the lower part of the Nwa Sub Division before finally moving to where they now stay;


  • The Ndu people seemingly passed through upper Berabe in the Ako Sub Division, and later moved into the area through Konchep in the Nkambe Central Sub Division.
  • The Luh and Nseh-Makop people do not seem to have any defined relations with the other people of the clan. The Nseh-Makop inhabitants are believed to have moved into the area much later from the Nso land in Bui Division.

Because of these differences in the migration patterns and the lack of evidence of family relations between the villages that make up the Wiya clan, some people refer to this clan as a “federation” of villages rather than a clan.

Ndu Sub Division was created by presidential decree No. 93/322 of 25/11/1993.

Opening Hours:

Mon – Fri: 8:00 am – 6:00 pm

City Map View

City News & Updates

The latest Ndu Council news, articles, and resources, sent straight to your inbox every month.